Sonia Rubinsky  © Joao Chimentao
Critique Sonia Rubinsky Almeida Prdao

" "By turns complex and carrying in its orchestral sounds, the work is a powerful evocation of the strength and mystery of the rising sun. Well matched with the excellent OFMG, Sonia Rubinsky's lively performance is rich in contrasts: she finds tremendous clarity in the fragments of melody that sparkle in the upper parts of the keyboard and bring ferocious energy to the work's driving rhythms and thunderous cluster chords."

 

                                  Classical Music: BBC Music Magazine

     " ... Pianist Sonia Rubinsky has a phenomenal technique, an immeasurable color palette and an irrepressible temperament. She reminds her colleague Martha Argerich."

 

                            Klassik.com, Elisabeth Deckers

Sonia Rubinsky © Isabela Senatore

        "On record, few Brazilian pianists show a versatility comparable to that of Sonia Rubinsky, born in Campinas. (...) our pianists seem a little intimidated to put their Bach readings back on the microphone. After the titanic effort of João Carlos Martins and the refined albums of Jean Louis Steuerman, only Nelson Freire's recent and isolated album for Decca has entered my radar. And now, fortunately, Sonia Rubinsky, after the "Brazilian Bach" Villa-Lobos, has decided to devote herself to the German Baroque master, with an album that makes us listen to Bach like we never did.

 

     Rubinsky's pianism is neither eccentric nor boring with rigour: it shows sobriety and good taste, bringing all the refinement that our ears of the 21st century require from the interpretation of 18th century music.What is also original and unheard of is the concept of the album. (Editor's note: Suite reinvented by the pianist)

 

    The good news is that the series will have two other volumes that will be released in October: Magna Sequentia II, with various dance pieces, and Magna Sequentia III (Editor's note: published only as a playlist by Naxos), including chorales, excerpts from the Well-Tempered Clavier and even a transcription of Rubinsky herself. I can't wait to hear them!       

 

                                                                                                          Irineu Franco Perpétuo - Revista Concerto

 

 " ... She has the perfect touch and style for Villa-Lobos"

                                  Paul Shoemaker, Musicweb.uk.net

Sonia Rubinsky  © Joao Chimentao
Critique Sonia Rubinsky Almeida Prdao

   " Tour à tour complexe et emportant dans ses sonorités orchestrales, l’œuvre est une puissante évocation de la force et du mystère du soleil levant. Bien assortie à l’excellent OFMG, la performance vive de Sonia Rubinsky est riche en contrastes : elle trouve une clarté formidable dans les fragments de mélodie qui scintillent dans les parties supérieures du clavier et apportent une énergie féroce aux rythmes de conduite de l’œuvre et aux accords-clusters tonitruants."

      Classical Music: BBC Music Magazine

 " ... La pianiste Sonia Rubinsky dispose d’une technique phénoménale, d’une palette de couleurs incommensurable et d’un tempérament irrépressible. Elle rappelle ainsi  sa collègue Martha Argerich."

         

                                       Klassik.com, Elisabeth Deckers

Sonia Rubinsky © Isabela Senatore

     « Sur disque, peu de pianistes brésiliens font preuve d’une polyvalence comparable à celle de Sonia Rubinsky, née à Campinas. (…) nos pianistes semblent un peu intimidés de remettre leurs lectures de Bach au micro. Après l’effort titanesque de João Carlos Martins et les albums raffinés de Jean Louis Steuerman, seul l’album récent et isolé de Nelson Freire pour Decca est entré dans mon radar. Et maintenant, heureusement, Sonia Rubinsky, après le « Bach brésilien » Villa-Lobos, a décidé de se consacrer au maître baroque allemand, avec un album qui nous fait écouter Bach comme nous ne l’avons jamais fait.

      Le pianisme de Rubinsky n’est ni excentrique ni ennuyant de rigueur: il fait preuve de sobriété et de bon goût, apportant tout le raffinement que nos oreilles du XXIe siècle exigent de l’interprétation de la musique du XVIIIe siècle

      Ce qui est également original et inouï, c’est la conception propre de l’album. (ndlr: Suite réinventée par la pianiste)

          La bonne nouvelle, c’est que la série aura deux autres volumes qui sortiront en octobre : Magna Sequentia II, avec diverses pièces de danse, et Magna Sequentia III (ndlr: éditée uniquement en playlist chez Naxos), y compris des chorals, des extraits du Clavier bien tempéré et même une transcription de  S.Rubinsky elle-même. J’ai déjà hâte de les écouter!       

           

                                                                                                               Irineu Franco Perpetuo - Revista Concerto

  

 

    " ...Elle a le toucher et le style parfaits pour Villa-Lobos"

                                Paul Shoemaker, Musicweb.uk.net